Starting out as the new Nokia maemo.org project manager

September 9, 2008 at 13:06 | Posted in website | 3 Comments
Tags:

It’s a week and a day since I started as the project manager for maemo.org.

It’s been quite interesting to get into the things that are going on in the community. Because that’s basically what this job is about. I need to get a feel for what kind of things would be considered beneficial by the community.

My tasks for the immediate future are quite centered on the Maemo Summit in Berlin next week. The new servers for maemo.org need to be brought on-line before that. The to-do list for that is luckily getting shorter, but still a couple of things to be done. I really hope that will take care of the performance issues for a while so I can get to my actual job.

Which in the long run is to see that the services available on maemo.org are suitable and good for the community. That’s something I’ll be looking at during the Autumn and Winter. Any ideas and suggestions are welcome.

And this probably is the right place to say a big thank you to the people who have been managing the site tasks on top of their normal workload.

Tero

P.S. As you can see, I am also reviving the maemo team blog. And hoping to get some more people inside Nokia to contribute here too :-)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congrats Tero! Looking forward meeting you at the Maemo Summit!

  2. Sounds like interesting news is coming from Maemo. Would you be willing to give a presentation to one of the local Linux User Groups about Linux at Nokia and plans for Maemo? I don’t speak for the LUGs but I could nominate you. They are always looking for good speakers.

  3. Thanks Reggie.

    Alison, as far as I can gather you are located in California. Lovely place, but I am in Finland. However if I happen to end up in that neighborhood, I can pop by.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

